Graduation Checklist

My schooling, for now, is coming to an end. Registration started yesterday for senoirs, which I am, and I registered for my last semester at Southern Utah University (SUU). I’m pretty excited.

Before I graduate, however, I needed to complete what is called an EDGE Project. EDGE stands for Education Designed to Give Experience. It required me to plan, hold and manage a project. I choose to do my Project through the Leadership Engagement Center at SUU. With the help of the Center, I was able to map out how I would proceed with my project, a blood drive.

February 10 and 11, 2014, I held a blood drive at the Institute building of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints in Cedar City, UT. The drive was open to any and all community members of Cedar City. I was able to work with the Institute in acquiring volunteers to help set up, take down and be secretaries during the event.

Secretatires

There are certain criteria that need to be meet in order to donate blood. These lovely women were the secretaries for the hour and they had great attitudes while working.

The secretaries were in charge of checking in donors, calling donors to remind them of their appointments and to make sure that the donors present met the donating criteria listed on the poster in the image to the left.

While working with the project, I had a chance to interact with the Red Cross staff that was present. They were phenomenal. They came before the drive started and set the entire event up and they also took it down afterwards. While chatting with them, they all had smiles on their faces. It was great to be around the staff and they were enjoying the event.

Here is an excerpt from the journal I kept while preparing and executing my project:

“Once the blood is taken, it needs to be to the lab within 24 hours. After it goes to the lab, each vial of blood can be sent anywhere it is needed.”

Each donor is screened before donating blood to make sure that he or she is able to safely donate.

Here are some images taken on February 11, the last day of the drive.

Leave a Reply

