I want ice cream

The title has nothing to do with what I’ll be writing about, but it still holds true.

It’s interesting how life can throw some severe curve balls at you and usually when you’re not expecting them (but then again, when are you expecting them?) Allow me to elaborate a tad.

I received news over the winter break that I needed to change my major. Sparing you the details as to why, that news hit me hard. Not to mention that some other life events were still affecting me…In short, I gave up on studying to be an artist. I was fully ready to change my major to study languages and I was even ready to change schools. Luckily that didn’t happen. I discussed this news with friends and family and made plans. I decided to continue with my application to BYU and if I am accepted, then I’d transfer up and continue my schooling there. It turns out that I could actually graduate from SUU this coming fall. I still finished my BYU application, so I’ll need to decide if I want to go there in the spring to study languages or not. I’m also currently in the process of waiting to see if I’m accepted to study abroad with SUU in France this coming May (I hope I’m accepted because I just want to travel.)

I have the idea to teach English in Japan with the JET Programme starting in August 2015. As much as I’d like to do that, I’ve decided that I can’t give up on art; I love it too much. A new semester has started and I’m finding myself enjoying my studio classes and that I’ve missed making art. Winter break was difficult, aside from the news, in that I wasn’t designing. That’s where my heart is. Although I may not be able to work as a graphic designer, per say, I’ll have to wait and see who’s willing to hire me once I graduate. I don’t have a plan for the future, but I want it to include art.

Leave a Reply

